“Stickin” with it.

 

Been squirreled away in the ICU for the past 10 days or so, which leaves little time to post, much less stop and think of something to post about.  A few ideas of things to write about did pop into my head this past week, but I invariably wrote them down on my rounding list, which invariably got thrown out at the end of the day as some cathartic gesture, so instead I am left with a few random thoughts from the past week or so.

  • It’s become a bit routine at this point. Those things that used to be terrifying, aren’t so much any more
  • Except for heart rhythyms. Espeically the tachy arrhythmias. Just once I might actually like to have a patient with true V tach so I can see it be like, YES there it is Mr. Cardiac Monitor, that is what true V tach looks like, so stop trying to get me all worked up with your fake V Tach alarms in the middle of the night.
  • I got a needle stick this week. It was probably both my fault for going to fast and the movement of the patient that combined for the teeny tiny little prick, but mental note made that even though I’m getting good enough to sink a central line in under 10 minutes, go slow on the needle parts.
  • People in the ICU have some fairly legit problems in their life. No quite third world problems, but pretty close. Which put things in perspective when a lady in the cafeteria was pitching a fit because the toaster was not toasting both sides of her bread equally. Definitely a first world problem.

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on May 18, 2012, in Deep Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

