EMS Week

(view from the jumpseat of the ambulance, responding to a car crash on the nearby highway)

Along with sports medicine and vacation, this block involves spending some time with the cites EMS crews.  A few (sarcastic) thoughts after my first day.

  • Apparently you no longer need to be able to see or hear to get a driver’s license, OR loads of people just couldn’t be bothered to move their vehicles to the side of the road so we could get by
  • After walking into some homes yesterday, I am no longer going to worry about how clean my house is.
  • The most disgusting place we walked into yesterday? A doctor’s office. The patient was actually the “doctor” himself. There was definitely something shady going on here. The record system they employed was the high tech method of “throw all the papers in a giant heap in the corner behind the doctors desk”. When I moved the good doctor’s desk, so we could bring the stretcher to him, several large cockroaches scampered out from underneath it. Basically, I might have preferred a third world doctor’s office to this place. And he had a full waiting room! And the maxim that doctor’s make the worst patients? TRUE.
  • As you might expect, the medics and fire fighters are all good peeps. The banter flying around the station house definitely made me miss my days in law enforcement.

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on April 3, 2012, in Fact is Stranger than Fiction, I'm 10-27. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I enjoy when docs or nurses ride along, helps on both sides of the fence! Plus we get another set of hands for lifting America’s finest.

    • It was definitely fun, I just wish there was like a headset or something I could use in the back as it’s hard to hear or say anything without shouting

Leave a Reply

