Out with a Bang

So to be honest, come this last week of peds, I was pretty much over the whole rotation. These 8 hours shifts were dragging such that they felt like 12 hours. I’ve only been here an hour and a half? FML! I don’t know why I didn’t like it… it was easy… which is good. But it was also just… kinda boring. I was never getting that high I do with adult EM where I’m essentially floating out the door at the end of the shift. I caught myself actually looking forward to my ICU rotation which starts in two days, and that’s kinda disturbing. To actually prefer the beast that is the ICU over peds… weird.  Anyways, last night was my last shift and it managed to be a pretty good night, the best of the whole month.  Actually had some sick kids. And there was only one other resident and myself, which meant I was busy and moving the whole eight hours, which I SO much prefer. I’d rather be stressed and harried over idle and thumb twittling any day.

My own little personal goals for the past month were to hear the classic barky cough of croup, and to see a nurse maid’s elbow.  Two things you hear about in medical school a thousand times each. And I was 0/2 going into my final shift. Low and behold though, my second kid last night was a 2yo complaining of arm pain after being helped up from sitting by a gentle tug upwards, and now was crying with the slightest movement of the arm.   One gentle hyperpronation of her arm, one little pop under my thumb later, and she was all smiles.  So that felt pretty good, and was probably my personal highlight of the month.

Walking out to my car last night, and thinking back over the past few weeks, I realized a few things. Most of these kids are pretty tough. Most of these kids are pretty resilient. Never once did I hear a kid complain, even the older ones. So in that respect, peds was pretty awesome. But I think I definitely prefer adult medicine, even despite all the bitching, moaning, retarded complaints and drug seekers.

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on January 30, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

