Shift Notes

A few thoughts from a random shift.

  • I’ll be the first to admit, that when I hear that GSW (gun shot wound) is coming in, I assume it’s going to be a black male. Maybe that’s me racially stereotyping, but when every GSW has been one,  it’s hard to ignore such trends. Thus, I was quite surprised last night, when our “cop drop” turned out to be a young white male wearing a sport coat and a tie. Apparently a mugging gone wrong. Although, It must have been his lucky tie as despite having a gun shot wound smack in the middle of his neck, he only suffered a broken collar bone.
  • This one patient frustrated me so much. Sick, flash pulmonary edema, horrible looking x-ray,  no outside doctor, no prescriptions, very high chance she was going to go home and have serious problems. However, I could not talk her into being admitted. She had 1001 excuses why she couldn’t come into the hospital, most of them not all that logical.  Granted I could counter most of her arguements with reasons to stay, I even broke out the big guns “If you go home tonight, you may very well die. If you don’t die, you may end with machines keeping you alive and tube down your throat breathing for you”. She wasn’t having it. She was just going to go to her pharmacy in the morning and get the meds to make her feel better (despite having no scripts). Whatever. I guess self autonomy includes the right to make bone headed decisions.

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on November 27, 2011, in Emergency Medicine. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. 1. Where DO you get these photos and videos Love the twins {looks like Newt Gingrich on the right} and the cat.
    2.”A white young male wearing a sports coat and tie”. Now there’s a paradox in today’s era.
    3.I appreciate that this type of patient presents a difficult dilemma.People are free to make their own decisions provided they are competent to do so.I would wonder about that in this situation.A standard I use is what would a reasonable person do in this situation?If a patient is unable to give a reasonable rationale for refusing treatment for a life threatening illness then I feel that there is an issue about their competence that needs to be addressed ,perhaps through a psych consultation. In this case ,rather than pressing the patient to accept treatment I would be interested in trying to understand why she was so opposed to it. Nobody to take care of my pets,fears of home being robbed,or,more typically,not being able to get my next drink or fix are typical concerns which sometimes can be resolved ,sometimes not.

  2. The twins are very cute..During the Occupy matter there are lots of guys who had such type of wounds and you would be very frustated by all these type of things..

  3. Not twins – we are cousins. 🙂 See link for original photo

  4. My cousin and I are both of the mind that as long as people are using it for fun we are both fine, and are having an absolute blast seeing the thousands/millions of places it is showing up. Have not found any commercial use (and hope not to). Glad you find it funny (its a treasure). My dad who took the photo died of a brain tumor when I was very young and my adoptive dad is a neuroradiologist – so I like seeing it on your site.
    Best,
    Andy

Leave a Reply

