Merrily we go round

The ICU is just such a different dynamic than the ED, especially in just the flow of the day. There are few things that I like less in all of medicine than rounding. Which is why I love the ER, as it doesn’t exist there. Maybe it does occasionally during shift change, but its litterally a one liner about each room and if they are staying or going.  But yesterday in the ICU, omg yesterday…. rounds….for…..eight…hours.  Somebody kill me. It sucks, primarily because there isn’t much to be done about it. The ICU was packed to the gills with people trying their hardest to die, so it just takes time. And I know this, but it doesn’t make it any less mind numbingly bearable. But when you don’t finish rounds until after four, essentially you are not starting to work on your individual patients until four, there is zero chance you are going to get home at a decent time. Nothing makes the ICU harder to deal with, at least for me, more so than getting home and having less than 15 minutes until I need to be in bed if I am going to get 8 hours of sleep.

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on October 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. They also serve who only stand and wait. John Milton,Paradise Lost.

  2. I have a question: given the delicate and volatile situation most of these patients in ICU tend to be in, would not the status of the first patient you rounded on change by the time you end an 8 hour trip round the unit, thus initiating a vicious cycle that feeds off itself? 🙂

    Just asking…

    • Haha, very true. Plus the fact that I can hardly remember what we said about patient number one, 8 hours and 19 patients later, when it comes time to get to work.

      • In my hospital we do not have EMR and stuff, so I had a small pad (not iPad, but the paper and pen variety) where I made notes in my cryptic shorthand as we went around.

        The problem is that one has to remember a lot of stuff about each ICU patient and has to recall them at the drop of a hat because when a patient codes, you do not want to worry about whether or not they are the one with severe allergy to Amiodarone!

  3. My mistake-quote is from “On his blindness” by JM.

Leave a Reply

