Another Day, Another Dollar

So today I worked a shift for a fellow tern’ who had a birthday party for a niece, or some other excuse to get a long weekend off. I was a little nervous about the day as the last shift I worked a week ago, I definitely felt rusty after being away from the ED for almost 20 days. Crazy how quick you lose it when you don’t use it.

Today was particularly rewarding for a few reason

  • I recently decided to finally suck it up and start to read Rosen’s. I downloaded all 200+ chapters and have been trying to read about 20 minutes per day. Nothing too extreme, but this past week I knocked off about 4 chapters. What was nice, the chapters I did read, where on weakness, dizziness, and vertigo, and sure enough if I didn’t have 4 patients with those same complaints today. I just really helped to reinforce the reading I had done. Plus, I had been incorporating my reading into my clinical website (ER JEDI Clinical Info) and was able to pull it up on my phone in the ED and get some info I had put on there in a snap (in part thanks to my snazzy new cell phone, which I heart, thanks mom!).
  • Last patient of the day had a rather large lip laceration. Decided to play tackle football without a helmet and tackle the ball carrier with his face. Picture a hot dog that was left in the microwave too long and you might have an idea of how this guy looked after splitting his lip open. Generally, since there are cosmetics involved, lip lacs are repaired by OMFS (oromaxillaryfacial surgery), but it’s not out of the question for the ER doc to do. I had a little time, so I decided to take a crack at sewing him up. OMFS eventually came down and I presented the patient, and that I sutured him up already, to which the surgeon was like, “Good for you, most ER guys aren’t brave enough to do that when its a lip laceration”. So I was pretty pleased with myself, even more so when he came back 20 minutes later to tell me what a stellar job I did.
  • Finally, I do enjoy the walk to work when working the early shift especially on a Sunday morning. Its cold and crisp out, which I love.  You have the streets to yourself as the city sleeps off the previous nights endeavors. You could essentially walk down the middle of main street if you wanted to and wouldn’t have to worry about a thing. It’s just a strange change of pace compared to the normal hustle and bustle of the city.

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on October 23, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. -I was reading up too, on the chapters on anger ,depression and despair.Darned if my first four patients didn’t present with the same complaints. They were all wearing Notre Dame caps.
    -It’s all in the hands.Thats why they say tight ends make great surgeons.
    -Is this a new blog- Noir Jedi?

Leave a Reply

