Not so fast…

As Mrs ERJ and I are approaching our 5th wedding anniversary, we are rapidly finding that pretty much all of our married friends have kids, are about to have kids or are in the process of making kids (generally, in the privacy of their own homes). However, being a resident as a less than ideal time to have a child. Take this conversation from conference this week.

Attending: ” I’m a first year attending, and my wife just gave birth to our fourth child. It’s been hard to try to have a family while a resident with all the hours we spend at the hospital. It’s better now as an attending, but at one point my four year old asked my wife “Is daddy dead?”  (laughter from the residents, thinking he’s kinda joking, but he continues…) The other day I was at baseball practice and was trying to get him to do something and he turns and yells at me “I don’t have to do what you tell me! You’re a stranger”

(ouch!)

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on October 8, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hey, I just found your blog and I have a feeling I’ll become a regular follower. I’m on a medical leave from my m1 year so I have a lot of time on my hands. I hope you don’t mind that I’ve linked you on my blog!

    And regarding having children during residency… well, it sounds like that comment explained it all. Of course it can be done (I just read Michelle Au’s book, This Won’t Hurt a Bit, where she discusses this) but it doesn’t seem ideal. Best of luck!

  2. Happy Birthday! good luck with the kid decision. Having just one kid worked for us, only one for college tuition!

  3. You notice I have not added a personal comment to this posting. What self control, I ask you. I would like to ask that resident, though, why in the world would anyone in this day and age have four (count ’em) FOUR kids. And he and his wife will wonder why they won’t connect with these little human beings even though they will not want for much monetarily as time goes on. He may be a nice guy but I have to wonder if he is an egoist or just stupid? I don’t get it.

  4. Yes, that’s true. But if he is Catholic than I hope he knows that the only reason he is allowed to have sex with his wife is for the procreation of children. And my next question is who made up these rules? And when they go against human nature and common sense why would anyone follow them? These are rules that are not in the best interest of children but then when has the Catholic hierarchy ever cared about them.

Leave a Reply

