WTF #2

So, the same guy I was all mad at the other day for pulling out his lines… The nurse comes up to me last night and says he’s very agitated and wants to know if I would like to give him some something to help him calm down. So I grab the chart and while I’m trying to remember (it’s 430am) if I should use Haldol or Ativan, I do remember that on day one, the attending told us that any time a nurse asks us to sedate a patient for agitation, we should actually go see the patient first. That sounds like a good plan, so I drop the chart and go see the patient. The nurse said that he had been trying to pull off his mitts (which were put on to keep him from pulling things out and escaping his soft restraints).

Me: Hello sir, what seem’s to be the problem?

Patient: (mumbles something I can’t understand, but not looking particularly agitated either, but sorta appears to be reaching for his hip as best he can with the mitts and restraints on)

Me: Are you in pain?

Patient: No!

Me: Do you have an itch?

Patient: Yes yes!

Me: Does your hip itch?

Patient: No!

Me: (Dreading the alternatives for where he might actually be itching) Do you itch towards the front?

Patient: No! (thank god)

Me: Do you itch towards the back?

Patient: Yes yes!

Me: Does your backside itch?

Patient: Yes!

Me: Do you want me to give you butt a good scratch?

Patient: Nods emphatically

So I sucked it up, put on a pair of thick gloves and gave the man’s backside a good scratch. The obvious relief on his face was well worth it. Plus, having that itch scratched, he lolled off to sleep for the rest of the night without making another peep.  Strong work doctor.

 

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on September 4, 2011, in WTF. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

