Anger Management

The other night was quiet for just about the whole shift, not so much as a peep out of anyone. Which is both good and bad…. while you can relax a bit (and even have time to roam the empty halls and snap a few pics), the night does tend to drag, especially the first shift of night float,  when you are not used to the hours. So I was about to be done with the shift at 7am, and at 645 this jerk of patient decides to pull out his central line, his only form of access. Now the patient isn’t really a jerk, he’s actually a demented guy who didn’t know any better. But dammit if I didn’t want to murder him at the time. I was so annoyed that he waited until I had one foot out the door to leave to do this. Really pal? Couldn’t have done this earlier when I was struggling to stay awake out of boredom? Even more so, when I got access on him, he then pulled it out a second time when I looked away for half a second.  I wanted to pull my hair out.

I know it’s not his fault per se, but damn if I wasn’t angry with him on my drive home. It was just a new feeling, being actively angry and resentful towards a patient. I know it won’t be the last time either that a patient will do something to make me angry at them. Looking back, now that I am calm and collected, it’s an interesting feeling, having to help someone that you just…want to ….stick that IV…IN THEIR EYE! (pull that line out buddy!)

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on September 2, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Emailed comment: Whoa easy there Jedi!! Your anger obviously was misdirected toward the patient here . I thoroughly understand how you felt. Guess what ? You’re human , how about that! It takes a strong man to admit he was wrong but he takes a great doctor to realize he was wrong and that his patient had no malcontent. You obviously didn’t take your frustration out on him and for that you should be happy. All people regardless of their profession have animosity at one time or another towards their co workers , etc due to various reasons. A true professional recognizes this within themselves and doesn’t demonstrate it. You have mentioned on a few occasions about that surgeon who is quite a “dick” and look how your opinion of him has been formed based on his actions. You don’t know his personal living situation or what put him in his foul mood . All you know is that he is a unprofessional pin head. So find something useful on which you can get your frustrations out . Strap on your IPod and enjoy your mix as you go home . ( someday it could be you or I in the same mental condition as that patient and with true karma we would want someone in this profession to be both professional and compassionate.)

  1. Pingback: WTF #2 | ER JEDI

Leave a Reply

