Calling off

Do nurses commonly call off from work? The other day, the first nice day in a while, apparently so many nurses just called off, sick or otherwise, the hospital essentially ground to a halt. Every unit in the hospital refused to take new patients as they didn’t have the staffing for it.  Patients set to move out just sat in the unit. Admitted patients down in the ER just sat there. It was a complete traffic jam. While there were LOADS of beds for these patients to go to, there was no one at those beds to take care of them. Too busy out enjoying the sunshine I suspect.

Could you imagine if doctors just “called off” when there was a nice day? I’ve had nothing but love for nursing on this blog up to this point, but this kinda made me a bit mad. Just sayin’.

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on August 25, 2011, in Things that annoy me, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. The nurses need a day off from dealing with docs having attitudes like yours!
    Don’t be so noble, remember you are part of a team. This stuff happens, it is as much a problem of the administration as it is the staff calling off.

  2. The hospital must have been drastically short-staffed, cut to the bone, if the place was unable to function! Nurses do get sick! (So do physicians-try not to be so judgmental.)

    • And if people are legitimately sick, then they should indeed call out from work. I just found it to be a bit of a coincidence that it was the first nice summer day in almost a week, that happened to fall on a weekend. If I had to bet if it was a rash of illness or a rash of cabin fever getting the best of people, I know where I would place my bet. Maybe I was just mad that I had to be there at work while others got to be outside enjoying the nice day.

  3. I am an ER nurse and oh hell yes they call in sick a lot and I am going to throw and even bigger question. Are the female nurses or the male nurses calling off sick more?

  4. I’m a night nurse on a medical unit and yes, ppl call off a lot. I have worked for 3yrs and since hospitals stopped using agency I find that now we just deal with less staff alot. Especially on the weekends when our limited float pool of nurses just don’t fill in. So whatever amount of sick calls that we have on weekends then we’re just stuck with what’s left. However, our floor has never been allowed to stop taking patients. During that time we’ll have 6-12 patients depending. Yes if feels like the safety of our patients goes way, way down. So that’s the alternative to not having the traffic jam.
    —From a nurse who never calls in b/c it’s a
    nice day

  1. Pingback: ER JEDI

Leave a Reply

