And the ground shook

If I had to make one sweeping generalized statement about the ICU, after 2 weeks of being there, it would be that life ceases to exist outside its four walls. For both patients and staff. I mean, there was a freakin’ earthquake yesterday, and that hardly put a dent in the carrying on of the beeps and dings that is the ICU.

“Did you feel that?”
“Yeah, what was that?”
“An earthquake?”
“hmm, must of been”
“Weird”
“Indeed”

I happened to exit the unit for a brief moment after the quake and head out into the general hospital.  It was a low grade pandemonium, people everywhere, out in the hallway, chattering on about it, calling loved ones, practicing hiding in doorways, wondering if we should all evacuate, just carrying on in general. I’m not saying these people were wrong for getting all worked up, but it was just a contrast to the way people responded inside the unit. And it’s not intentional either. I don’t try to be all super focused or anything like that, but while you are there in the unit, it’s hard for any other aspect of life to penetrate in. As a counterbalance, I make an effort to call, message or email Mrs ERJ once a day during a shift, just to try to remind myself that I have a life outside of here that needs attending to as well.

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on August 24, 2011, in Residency. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

