Weeder Classes

I am pretty sure at some point, we have all wondered why we had to take organic chemistry. I have yet to use even one iota of o chem since completing the course. I’ve heard the rationale that its meant to be a weeder course, to show who has the mental moxy to get through the rigorous demands of medical school. But why not offer actuall med school basic sciences to undergrads instead and let them prove they have med school mental moxy by completing actual medical school courses?

I mean, what would be a better estimate of your ability to run a marathon? Running a few miles on the track or swimming some laps in the pool? I’m pretty sure Michael Phelps would get his ass handed to him in a Marathon.

I personally think this a steller idea because lets say students get these basic science classes out of the way as an undergrad, but for whatever reason, they don’t get into medical school. What ever it is they end up doing, these basic medical science classes are bound to be WAY more useful to them than an organic chem class would have been. I’m pretty sure most people who don’t get into med school don’t end up becoming organic chemists. They do something else related to health care, something else where their o-chem class has zero relevance but that learning how the body actually works might be of value.

If you did this, got these basic physiology classes out of the way as an undergrad, that would open up so many more opportunities for awesome, unusual or interesting clinical experiences in medical school. Or maybe…. med school could even be cut down to 3 years, or you could spend more time as a sub I, actually getting a chance to learn about what field you want to go in, rather than basing the rest of your life off a 4 week experience.

“I think you are confused Mr. Phelps, this is a WEEDER class”

 

 

 

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on June 7, 2011, in Medical School. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. And all the colorful images I had conjured on reading the title… this sure is gonna get you some weird SEO love mate!

  2. I couldn’t agree more. Same goes for MCAT content- physics? Really?

  3. Physics does come into play at certain points, in theory at least. Granted only the parts about fluid and pressure in a closed space, or moving through a pipe (ie blood in your arteries). But its never like you use the physics reality, as in breaking out equations and what not. However, I have yet to have to figure out how far downstream I am going to land when I launch my boat into a river with a current of 3m/s. Maybe this will be a problem when I am an attending and can actually afford a boat.

Leave a Reply

