Sayonara “Mr.”, Hello “Dr.”

 

 

Today was graduation, and to be honest, in the days leading up to commencement, it didn’t seem like a big deal at all, but by the time it was over,  it turned out to be a pretty great and memorable day. It didn’t really hit me until the few minutes before we marched, just how momentous an occasion this actually was in my life.  For me personally, it was not just the last day of a 4 year ordeal, but rather the culmination of a 9 year process; nearly a third of my life.  Starting with my wife, then girlfriend, planting the idea in my head back when I worked for public safety. First, a physics class back at my undergrad university, to Chem 102 at the neighboring university. From there, quitting my job to move to Philadelphia for a postbac program. Working during the day in a sleep deprivation lab, taking O-chem for a second time at night.  Realizing I might be able to do this when I got an A in O chem the second time around, unlike the C  I got 4 years before as an indifferent undergrad. Getting a full time job in Parkinson’s research, finishing the postbac program, publishing my first paper, being inspired and mentored by the young and charismatic doctors at the clinic.  Applying to med school and getting interviews. Getting that call you that were accepted.  Awesome.  4 years of med school.  4 years that flew by. 4 years of hard work, but also fun and laughs and amazing people and experiences.

9 years is a long time, but really, it’s only the beginning.  Can’t wait to see what the next years hold.

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on June 3, 2011, in Medical School. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reading this post gave me chills, just imagining what that day is going to feel like.

    Your path is similar in may ways to the one I’ve had to take as well–the going back to school and doing things in dribs and drabs then suddenly realizing: HEY! Maybe I CAN do this!! (Also came for me in the form of an “A” in o-chem!!)

    Big congrats Dr. Jedi!!

Leave a Reply

