What seems to be the problem officer?

My most embarrassing story from the job with public safety…

One night while assigned as David 21 (David units were the car units, and I was the second car unit that night) I was out patrolling some of the off campus clinics spread throughout the region. These were anywhere from a 10 minute to 4 hour drive away and we had to check in on them every so often, and this was before satellite GPS existed, so we were often trying to find our way in these remote sites in the dark.  So, I’m on my way to one of these clinics, in a marked vehicle mind you, lights, decals, big ol’ front bumper when I see red and blue lights flashing in my rear view. Assuming this is the local PD responding to a call up the road, I mosey over to the shoulder to give them a wide berth to pass. But no, the police car stays right behind me and slows down as I stop on the shoulder.  WTF?! I’m in a police car, being pulled over by another police car?? Um, was I speeding or something? So of course, like any lay citizen I am filled with a mix of dread and fear as the officer approaches my car, what do I say? Play it cool? Maybe she’s just saying hello? But of course my Neanderthal brain locks up and all I can get out is “What seems to be the problem officer?”

She found this to be amusing and started laughing. Apparently, I didn’t realize it, but the street I was on, was a one way street and I was going the wrong way down it. SWEET! I’M AN IDIOT! Thankfully it was 3am so there were no other cars. She graciously pointed me in the correct direction of travel and sent me on my way, but I was quite embarrassed and never breathed mention of it to anyone back at base.

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on April 29, 2011, in 10-4. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. hahahaha, love it.

  2. The best measure of a gentleman’s honesty isn’t his taxes return. It does not take zero adjust on his bathroom scale.
    Failure or success running a business is caused more by the mental attitude even when compared with mental capacities.

Leave a Reply

