>Oh No You Didn’t!

>A few weeks back, I was asked to “act” in a film produced by the AMA about different styles of running a code. Apparently somebody saw me intubating a mannequin and thought it would be cheaper and easier to have me play the role of “Glenn – Anestesia Resident” than to teach a propper actor how to convincingly intubate (see “George O’Mally” below). I’m sure my devilish good looks played a pivotal role in me getting the part as well.

The point of this little story, is that all throughout the three days of shooting, everything was being overseen by a legit attending, who’s job was to make sure than everything was, well… legit. Chest compressions were done at the correct rate, paddles were placed in the right location, and that amiodarone was pronounced correctly. Basically they were looking out for anything that any real doctor might see and notice as being wrong or out of place.

So, Mrs. ERJ and I have been started watching Grey’s Anatomy from the beginning these past two weeks. And by and large I thought they have done a pretty credible job of keeping things fairly legit. Right up until the last two episodes, when both Dr. Burke and George O’mally used their RIGHT hand to control the laryngoscope when intubating! Mortal Sin! And then later, O’Mally goes and puts his stethoscope in backwards! You’re killing me George. If our low budget AMA production could have a spotter watching for these things, why can’t a multi million dollar production catch these basic goofs? I can suspend belief about all the crazy plot that happens (apparently, sex deprived surgeons are the only doctors who work in Seatle Grace Hospital), but wearing your ears backwards is really pushing my limits.

EDIT: I do fully realize that commenting on the merits of Grey’s Anatomy is about 5 years past the valid shelf life of current topics of interest

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on April 7, 2011, in Life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

