>A week later

>Just over a week since match and I have to say, at this point, I am pretty pumped to be heading to ERJH (ER Jedi Hospital) in a few weeks, and no longer bummed that I didn’t match at my other places. Here’s a short recap of what happened this week that removed any lingering doubts and got me excited.

  • For those soon to be interns in the area, we were invited to conference, so JB (Jedi’s Buddy from home school also heading to ERJH for emeregency) headed over to check things out and we were both glad we did. About six attendings were present for the 2 hours of board cases at the start and the current interns were the ones who had to pretend to be sitting for their oral boards. I noticed a few things during this session that encouraged me about the years to come  
    • The attendings were all nice, no one was belittled or made to feel incompetent when they didn’t know something
    • Most of the attendings were funny.
    • I knew most of the answers to the specific questions that were asked.
  • Walking into conference I was behind two of attendings who were on the night before and overheard the following conversation. “So did anything happen last night after I left?” “Yeah, some guy came in shot 18 times. As we log rolled him, bullets were literally falling out of him onto the bed”
  • Now with this next point, I realized I am putting myself out there to be made fun of. Mrs ERJ certainly has given me a hard time over it. Secretly, a small part of the reason why I had the RED program ranked at the top of my list, was that the residents got to wear these back scrubs. I had never seen anyone rockin’ black scrubs before and I wanted to be a part of that. And I was a little bit sad when I opened my envelope and saw that the dream of being an ER ninja (as Mrs ERJ now refers to me) was shattered. But alas, at conference on Wednesday, black scrubs were being rocked by the interns. Apparently, you can choose what ever color you want, but the black ones are most definitely hot, I have to admit. They have some bad ass embroidery going on as well over there at ERJH. (did I just say bad ass embroidery?) 
  • Out of curiosity I looked at the starting salaries for all three programs. ERJH is the highest, by a good margine, meaning I’ll have about $100 dollars extra a month to spend on coke and whores taking Mrs ERJ out to dinner.
Tomorrow my radiology elective starts, my last class of medical school. Let’s get’er done.

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on March 27, 2011, in Residency. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

