>God Save Us

>I’m sure that this is the typical knee jerk reaction of pretty much everyone after they match, the realization that in a few short weeks, you might be in the ICU, actually responsible for a patient. Or actually, many of them (gulp!)

Whats worse, is that my new program has no ER orientation month. On day one of intern year I may find myself in the ICU. Now I’m sure this realization would make anyone a little nervous, but in my case, I think I saw my last real patient on Feb 2nd or so. The last real inpatient I saw was before Christmas. So to say I’m going to be a little rusty, might be an understatement.

I know it will come back, that after a few days I’ll be in the basic swing of things, but until that happens, does anyone know of any secrets for brushing up on ICU basics? (Without actually having to read Harrisons?)

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on March 19, 2011, in Residency. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. >Nobody in their right mind would expect an intern just out of school to able to manage a difficult case -too many stories over the years about the spike in hospital deaths in the first few days in July.So relax-it's all so much easier nowadays anyway with instant access to the world of medical knowledge through electronic devices.

Leave a Reply

