>Kiss Me, I Matched

>
Well, its been a long and nerve wracking day, filled with both ups and downs. I matched at my number 3 choice. I’m not disappointed with where I matched, but slightly disappointed at where I didn’t match, if that makes sense.

My #1 was a long shot. Literally every last person I know who was trying to stay in the area had this place ranked first and they ended up taking one person from my school. The person they took is really a great guy and I’m very happy for him (with just a twinge of jealousy mixed in).

My #2 though, was my home school. And this, I’m a little miffed about. Its a clear fact that the program I matched it is a more highly regarded program, but I’m a little annoyed by all the sunshine that was blown up my backside about how I was a lock and then didn’t match. Really, wtf. I don’t care so much that I didn’t match, I care that you told me I would and then I didn’t.

But whatever. Now, onto #3. When I opened the envelope, I wasn’t quite sure what to do or how to react to the result. There were explosions of emotion going on around me all at once, shrieks of joy, big stoic men reduced to tears. My wife was there with me, just as clueless as how to react, trying to read my face. To be honest, my first reaction was disappointment. I had held out hopes that I would match at my #1. But once I settled down and collected my thoughts I was okay with it. Plus, a few minutes later I found out that one of my best friends in my class, who is also going to EM, also matched at program #3. I love hanging out with this kid and he makes me laugh like no one else, so if nothing else, I’m glad I’ll be going through it with him. I think he experienced much the same string of emotions that I did.

So it’s all still sinking in, but I already got the email telling me to report for BLS training June 15th. No rest for the weary. But speaking of weary, a brief recap of the day.

12:03am. Decide to go to bed, figuring I’ll get a good 8 hours of sleep and be ready to rock.

5:30am. Wake up, and can’t stop thinking about opening the envelope.

6:30am Realizing there is no chance of falling back asleep, get up after 5.5 hours of sleep.

6:30-8:30am Distract myself with LOL cats and other internet memes

8:30am Head off to match day mimosas at a friend’s apartment.

9:00am Mimosa #1

9:45am Mimosa #2

10:15am Friends start to wax poetic about how far we’ve come.

10:30am Apartment become jammed with 4th years getting their champagne and orange juice on. Green bagels and soda bread make an appearance as well.

10:55am Arrive in auditorium, to realize there is no chance everyone and their significant others are going to fit.

11:10am People starting sitting in the aisles and on desks

11:20am Dr. M teases our small groups by fanning the envelopes at us.

11:25am MH thinks he may have taken too many klonopins this morning.

11:30am Dean P makes his little spiel about match stats.

30600 applicants applied for 26,000 spots

11:35 Hear from someone who scambled that only 5 spots in EM went unfilled, two of them being in peurto rico.

11:45 Dean T makes his speech. A notoriously bad speaker, coming off a degrading speech to women the night before (seriously bad). Gives a speech sumarized as…”some of you will be excited, some of you will be indifferent, some of you will be very upset”. Thanks for that.

11:55 envelopes handed out. No instructions are given if we can open them. Pandemonium breaks out as people don’t know what to do, some start to open. Screams literally erupt from around the auditorium. The guy sitting two over from me burst into tears, his girlfriend consoling him like his grandmother died. He got his #1. FFS!

The rest is boring, hugs, congrats, reception and lunch, extra dirty martini at the Ritz and now home for some basketball. Things could have gone a smidge better, but overall not a horrible day. Plus I got this great shirt out of it.

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on March 17, 2011, in Residency. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. >Well done,boyo! So many others only get to dream about what you've done .Have a good sleep tonight-you deserve it .

  2. >Good job, Jamal. We are very proud.

  3. >Thanks mom….haha.

  4. >Congrats! i'm sorry that you didn't get your first choice, however, i hope you will be happy! What Anon #1 said. Get some rest! 🙂

  5. >pop the bubbly its party time!congraulations. one of my friends didnt match this year. i know how that shit feels. cheers to you!

  6. >To my favorite nephew, I am old enough to know that things happen for a reason. congrats!

Leave a Reply

