>Jendrassik maneuver

>

I love old medical photos like these. This is a picture demonstrating Jendrassik Maneuver

The Jendrassik maneuver is a medical maneuver wherein the patient flexes both sets of fingers into a hook-like form and interlocks those sets of fingers together. The tendon below the patient’s knee is then hit with areflex hammer to elicit the patellar reflex. The elicited response is compared with the reflex result of the same action when the maneuver is not in use. Often a larger reflex response will be observed when the patient is occupied with the maneuver, as the maneuver may prevent the patient from consciously inhibiting or influencing his or her response to the hammer. This effect was first observed in the late 19th century by Hungarian physician Erno Jendrassik, whom it was named after.

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on March 6, 2011, in Back when I was your age.... Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. >Oh, then you'll love Sterile Eye blog. Go check it out for real gems! 🙂

  2. >And PLEASE can you turn off this uber-irritating wordplay thingie! It is a HUGE turn offs for lazy asses like me! Seriously. :PP.S.: Its fun to read SPAM comments too!

  3. >Okay, word verification should be turned off. Thanks for the suggestion. Didn't realize it was an option as I hate having to do that too.

  4. >And that sterile eye blog is awesome! You're 2/2 on suggestions.

  5. >Thanks man! 🙂 BTW< seeing that you are an EMBlogger, I kinda believe it is sacrilege to not have Life in the Fast Lane not listed on your bloglist.Another champion blog. And I totally love their latest blogpost! Do you read 'em?

  6. >Read all their stuff and think they are great! I definitely have to update have to update my blog roll one of these days. Haven't used it much since adding everything to google reader and doing my blog reading from there.

Leave a Reply

