>Rank Lists: Final Thoughts

>Final residency rank lists were due this week, and after about 6 weeks of angst, these are my final thoughts on the whole process of applying, interviewing and ranking

  • As I posted a while back (see tag Red vs Blue), despite viewing several more programs since, it all really came down to two programs for the number one spot. I waffled for quite a while, swapping the two programs back and forth from the top slot multiple times. In the end, I went with Red over Blue. After much thought and discussion with V, what it came down to was not so much why Red was a better, but rather, why was I NOT ranking Red first. I knew Red was the better program, but I realized I was kinda afraid of that. Everyone, myself included, who rotated at Red, absolutely loved them and planned to rank them among the tops of their list. So I think what was holding me back was being afraid of being rejected. I loved this program but what if they didn’t love me back? But then I grew a pair, and remembered that hey, if you don’t rank them, then you’ll never know. So really, thats what it came down to. I think I knew all along that I preferred Red to Blue, but it just took a while for me to be okay with idea of NOT matching with Red if I listed them first. 
  • There are a LOT of good people going into EM. I really enjoyed getting to know some of these people at interviews and dinners. Hopefully our paths will cross again in the future.
  • There are definitely some weird peeps going into EM as well. These people might have rocked their step I’s, but I couldn’t imagine ever wanting to work with these people on a day to day basis.
  • Being “recruited” is very flattering. I recall at one point a chief from one program on one arm, a chief from another on the other arm, pulling me in two opposite directions “Come to Red!” ” No, come to Maroon!” 
  • I wasn’t sold on the 4 years is better than 3 year programs. Sure, you might get a little more experience, but no matter what, you aren’t going to see everything. So regardless of that extra year, you’re going to have to be able to cope with a novel situation at some point in your career. 
  • 12 hours shifts are a real turn off
  • I’d be perfectly happy matching at any of my top six choices, which takes a lot of the stress out of it. Actually the hardest part of this whole process was that ALL the programs seemed really great. I didn’t interview anywhere that I didn’t like. I never had a “no way” feeling after an interview. In a way, I wish I did. 
Final list: 
(I know the colors don’t mean anything to anyone, but after the match March 17th, I’ll come back and put names with the colors).
Red
Blue
Maroon
Yellow
Navy
Orange
Pink
White

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on February 26, 2011, in Medical School, Residency. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. >Congrats on being recruited…very nice compliment…and by not one, but TWO programs! Will definately be thinking of you on the "Ides of Match"!

  2. >You are welcome! 🙂 The answer to my previous question is "Words of Comfort". Just finished reading "Cutting for Stone"…Excellent!

Leave a Reply

