>And so it begins…

>And so it begins…family members asking you for medical advice.

Woke up to this email this morning.

“Diagnosis doc? Raised BL legs and inner forearms, itchy at times”

I told her she had the AIDS.

I don’t mind at all people asking for an opinion, especially if its something simple. But I’m curious about what strategies people employ when family members want more than just advice, when the they want you to  treat them, without them actually being your patient, or worse, to write them a script. I’m going to make it my own personal rule not to write for anyone, unless they are a patient, but if anyone has any good strategies for saying “no”, please share.

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on February 14, 2011, in Life. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. >Whilst I try to dodge the bullet by saying it isn't quite in my specialty (I am working as a junior staff in critical care now, and unless they are sick to the point of dying, I can't say anything!) it won't work for you, seeing that you are going into EM! Hope you find some way to salvage yourself from this mess! Came via the comment you left on my blog. Spanky blog his. Have you considered adding an email subscription option? (or maybe move to wordpress.com and become blog buddies with me? 😛 )

  2. >Thanks for the suggestion! I think I successfully added the email subscription option.

  3. >Alright. Signing up for that! But being the wordpress groupie that I am when it comes to blogging. methinks you should shift to wordpress, if not the personally hosted version, then at least to wordpress.com! erjedi.wordpress.com is still available! 🙂

  4. >Oh well, I could try to sell wp to you but to be honest, in the blogger vs wordpress war, there is little, if any fatal flaws that hinder blogger. the biggest advantage is that its all FREE! i like wordpress for its spankier look and jazzier interface: also the ability to use plug ins. also, wordpress has a killer seo advantage over blogger. there is also a sense of community support in the wp.com world which is good when you get that sinking feeling that no one is reading your blog! LOL. that aside, there is little between the 2 platforms! you keep rockin' right the way you are!

Leave a Reply

