>A Few Random Thoughts

>I just finished my four weeks of outpatient family medicine. And if I can successfully rearrange the rest of my schedule, this past month will be my final set of patient interactions in med school. Kinda exciting, kinda scary all at the same time. 

A few random thoughts over the past month. 
– I may have actually learned something in med school. Not quite sure how it happened, but I would say I successfully wrote an A&P for all my patients that 95% of the time got an “I agree with the above” addendum by the attending. This is a new feeling for me. Up to this point, I’ve rather felt like I was just keeping my head above water, always amazed every time I passed an exam, or got high marks on a rotation. But I guess some of the stuff stuck over the past four years. What a relief! haha
– I found a few things to be personally challenging this past month. 
1) There was one young man to whom I had to explain his HIV screen and western blot results to. This guy had dropped out of school before 8th grade and had little to no scientific education. Using terms like sensitivity and specificity….might as well be speaking Japanese to him. He actually got really angry because his HIV screen was positive but he blot was negative. “I’m gong to sue you guys for putting me through all this for nothing”. I got through it, he calmed down and by the end of the interview we had a good rapport such that he brought up several other personal issues that he was having.  But it made me think, as part of our medical school training, they should make us play a game of Medical Taboo. You know the game where you have to get your team to say a word without using several closely related words. For example, you team has to say “car” without you using the words “tires, engine, drive”.  It makes you think of alternative ways of conveying an idea, which would have been useful in this situation. This man and I were working with different sets of vocabulary, in effect, I couldn’t use any medical jargon, kinda like a game of taboo. 
2) Babies with rashes scare me. This is still an area I feel I know absolutely nothing about.
3) The language line. I just hate having to use it. So many things just don’t translate.
4) I still despise well visits. Especially for kids. Nothing bores me more than asking about how many blocks your kid can stack or if they can color within the lines. 
Rank lists due soon! (minor panic)

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on January 30, 2011, in Medical School. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

