>Professional Resolutions for 2011

>I’ve been mulling the following over for a while, and just wanted to say thanks to V (even though she refuses to read this) for helping me sort out how I feel about this idea.

I resolve to not discuss patients on this blog

But wait you say, isn’t that the point of this blog, to remember all the crazy people you see, all the horrific and entertaining stories (sadly, horrific is often entertaining) they tell. Yeah that stuff IS entertaining, but really, its gossip. And it violates patient trust. Even if you do change the names and ages and what not, a place such as a blog, that is accessible to anyone in the world with an internet connection, is not the place to relay the story of how some patient got her latest STD. Those kind of posts are just self serving when you think about it. To tell a funny story, to get a laugh from your “peers”. And what happens when a non medical person reads that? What happens when they realize that things they tell their doctor might end up as fodder for a blog post, regardless of whether its anonymous or not.

Its a fine line though. I think its okay to talk about YOU felt in a situation, and sometimes you might need to give a little context as to the specific situation. But its not okay just to tell a story for the sake of telling the story.

For me, I think its important for me to remember why I am writing this blog. I started it not to attract readers or generate comments. I made it to be merely a journal of my thoughts and experienes, and as I way to organize some of the instructional material I come across along the way. And along those same lines, I been thinking about cutting the music posts, you know, keeping this strictly business and what not. But then I just have to remember, its my blog, and I like the music, and I don’t really care about who reads this thing or not, so it stays. :p

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on January 3, 2011, in Emergency Medicine. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

