>Fix Me, Now.

>Sometimes I struggle with how I feel about patients who are absolutely indifferent about their health right up until the moment they get sick. So pardon this little vent session….

You know what,  don’t ask me how this debilitating dyspnea could happen to you and when you are going to get better after you’ve been smoking two packs a day for the past 40 years. Thats just not fair. The fact that you are going to need oxygen for the rest of your life is NOT my fault. Its yours. Its not my lack of treating you, it has nothing to do with how much money you make, or what color your skin is, so don’t you dare go there. Yeah, I know you family depends on you to work, and that you can’t go on disability. But guess what, so did you. And buddy, I’m not lying to you. The picture IS grim, sending your kids to cry to me is not going to make me produce a magic cure. The best thing you can do for yourself is to quit smoking. But I’m sure someone told you that the last two times you were stuck in this hospital too. So yeah, I’m sending you home regardless of how much you don’t like it. We’ve done all that we can for you here. Time you sacked up and did something for yourself.

Rant

“Sir, we’re going to do everything we can to get you feeling as well as possible!” (SMILE!)

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on December 16, 2010, in Medical School, Things that annoy me. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

