>Medicine Sub I

>About 2/3 of the way through my inpatient sub I. Coming in, from what I heard earlier in the year,  I was expecting it to be really hard. I was told that t I would have to carry six patients, and man the team pager, but actually…. its been pretty nice. They are only making me carry 2-3 patients, and most of them are pretty easy patients. We round at 815, which means I can usually roll in in at 720, write my notes and still have time to grab breakfast before we have to meet with the team. The whole thing makes me smile, remembering back to third year, and looking at the two third years on my team. Now, and when I WAS them, they scramble in no later than 6am and spend an hour writing each note, which would invariably take up all the space on the page leaving no room for the resident to write their own note. Now, I’m lucky if my note hits 10 lines. And the team is super fun as well, from the top down we’ve all taken to see who can get the best “thats what she said” line in before the end of the rotation.

Also, I went to a lunch EM lecture today for cardiac emergencies. I wasn’t aware of it at the time, but it was geared for the first years and made me laugh at how far we’ve come. Does anyone know what ST elevations on en EKG represent?

Speaking of which, if I ever have to go to the ED for a heart attack, I’m going to say that “It feels like I have an alpaca standing on my chest”, you know, just to be different. Elephants are NOT the only animal that can stand on someones chest.

So all in all..

Dann, it feels good to be a 4th year.

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on December 8, 2010, in Medical School. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. >Heh! Congrats! And, i love that song too!

Leave a Reply

