>Red vs Blue

>I’ve interviewed at most of my favorite programs so far. In fact, I know for certain which two programs are going to be my top choices. The problem is, is that I can’t decide between the two. Thus, I figured I’d go with the traditional pro and con type attacks and see which school comes out on top. I’d love some feed back or suggestions for other things I should consider. I’ll probably do this over multiple posts so bare with me.

LOCATION:
While both schools are located in the city that I now live, and wish to remain, there are a few slight differences

RED:
Red program while farther as the crow flies is not terribly far in terms of time. I’d have to walk about 2 blocks to pick up the subway, take a 10 minute ride and exit at the stop across from the hospital and make the time 5 minute walk from there. When I was rotating there, I would leave the apartment 40 minutes before my shift started and always arrive with at least 15 minutes to spare. I could have probably left later, but I hate cutting it close, especially when things like public transport are out of my control. And while the train runs every 10 minutes, if you just miss one, that adds ten minutes to the commute. The other problem is that from midnight to six a.m. trains are only every 40 minutes. The shifts at the red program end at 11, so most nights I’d hope to make it but nothing is worse that having to wait a long time for your train when you are dog tired

BLUE:
Blue program is a 20 minute walk door to door. I like this as I control my own fate when walking and am not dependent on anyone else to get me there. The only downside is when its raining or snowing. However, with the way the city’s subway is set up, I can actually make about 80% of the walk underground, and there are also buses that essentailly pick up and drop off a short block from the ED.

WINNER: BLUE

About ER Jedi

I’m a resident doctor in Emergency Medicine and I’ve learned during the past few years that 1) I’ve had some pretty amazing experiences 2) I have a very bad short-term memory. So this blog is just a place for me to write about some of these experiences, from the ER, medical school, the wards and life in general. At least that way I’ll have some idea as to where I’ve been all this time. A scrap-book of sorts, a place to vent, organize some clinical tools and post a few good songs I’ve heard along the way.

Posted on December 2, 2010, in Red vs Blue. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

